Nordic Gold

Hanzi Brunk
4 min readSep 25, 2019

Are, Sweden

The tree line gave way to tundra, as the sun’s rays brought a warmth rarely felt in the vastness of Northern Sweden. As soon as I reached for my sunglasses, overcast returned and slight smiles appeared on the faces of my group.

“You know you’re a tourist when you grab your shades at first sight of sunlight,” my guide said with a grin.

Up and up we continued.

“Where are we heading?” I said, while coyishly returning my sunglasses to my pack.

“Just around the bend…” Or maybe it was a little further up?”

Rumbles began in the group as the four locals started arguing about trail directions. Even while being agitated, the Swedish language doesn’t lose its joyful musical melody. I was working on improving my own Swedish, but was casually reminded there is still much work to be done.

We ventured on.

Heavy breaths began to synchronize during the journey. The rain started. Innocuous gray clouds quickly matured into threatening skies. Goretex jackets squeaked as they were hastily removed from packs.

“Welcome to Åre, where we

--

--

Hanzi Brunk

Travel Writer | Freelance Photojournalist | Avid Adventurist.